What is a vulnerability scanner or assessment solution?

If you are a cybersecurity expert, you will understand that scanning for vulnerabilities is one of the most effective ways to prevent a data breach. This category is aimed at applicants who identify security flaws in a system or software. We seek the tools needed to identify all vulnerabilities in a system. Successful solutions should not only detect weaknesses but to remediate and alter procedures, ensuring vulnerabilities are prioritized and addressed after they’ve been discovered. Assessment solutions should evaluate numerous solutions to determine the best course of action to take. Testimonials and case studies are expected in order to reflect the success of the solution.

The best tools should scan the system or network for vulnerabilities in software, operating systems, and other components, and then generate a report that identifies the vulnerabilities and recommends steps to remediate them.

Vulnerability scanners typically use a database of known vulnerabilities and attempt to match these vulnerabilities with the components installed on the system or network. The scanner may also use other methods, such as network port scanning and password cracking, to identify potential vulnerabilities.

Previous recognition for vulnerability scanner or assessment solutions

For a broader understanding of this Cloud Security Awards category, we have gathered examples from previous winners, finalists, and shortlistees which impressed the judging team with their innovative security solutions.

Winner of The 2024 Cloud Security Award for Best Vulnerability Scanner / Assessment Solution

Quote from Lead Judge, Annabelle Whittall

“By addressing the increasing demand for penetration testing across various regulatory frameworks and internal requirements, Horizon3.ai’s NodeZero™ platform empowers organizations of all sizes to enhance their security effectiveness. Deployed autonomously from the Horizon3.ai cloud, NodeZero™ identifies exploitable weaknesses in internal, external, and cloud infrastructures, providing detailed guidance for prioritizing and remedying vulnerabilities. With its SaaS-based solution, organizations can continuously improve their security posture through unlimited, orchestrated deployments and targeted retesting, ensuring ongoing protection against evolving threats.”

Winner of The 2023 Cloud Security Award for Best Vulnerability Scanner

Quote from Lead Judge Ketan Vijayvargiya

“Balbix have developed a system that quantifies risk in monetary terms, providing a unique perspective. Their comprehensive tracking capabilities ensure a thorough understanding of the security landscape. Their innovative approach to risk prioritization, focusing on available patches and fixes rather than vulnerabilities, sets them apart. Their transparent account of the challenges they tackled demonstrates their confidence and determination to overcome obstacles.”

A strong entry for Best Vulnerability Scanner / Assessment Solution category should have:

  • Clear, identifiable reasoning as to how the solution protects organizations from vulnerabilities through innovative assessment tools
  • If available, any supplementary materials including but not limited to customer testimonials or case studies to demonstrate the solution’s results, effectiveness, and how it works
  • Clearly highlighted in the application any innovative features based on cloud technologies, where applicable.

The top candidates must be able to combine confidentiality, integrity, and availability.

Ready to enter this category? Please remember to:

Download the forms
• Select the rights awards program and category/ies
• Submit according to the deadline
• Include all supplementary materials on your application

Next Steps to Enter The Cloud Security Awards Awards

To enter this Cloud Security Awards category, or any other category in The Cloud Security Awards, please follow these three simple steps:

  • Download the entry form. Open up the ‘Cloud Security Awards Simple Form’ document.
  • Complete your form. You only need to complete the form once, even if entering multiple Cloud Security Awards categories.
  • Submit your entry. Head to the ‘Submit Now’ section on our website, select ‘The Cloud Security Awards’ and the category/categories you are entering from the list, upload your form and any other materials you would like the judges to review, and process your fees.

The Cloud Security Awards is a program from The Cloud Awards. Since 2011, we’ve been helping organizations across the globe gain the recognition they deserve for market-leading innovation in the cloud computing and software sectors.

For a detailed breakdown of all the benefits you receive as an awards entrant as either a shortlistee, finalist or ultimate winner, please see our “Why Enter?” page. The many benefits are replicated across all international awards programs. If you have any questions about this category, please contact us.